Solo exhibition in collaboration with Atomic Architecture, BALTIC|Ryder Commission, 2015-2016
BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead, UK

It's not who you are it's how you are, (2015 – 2016) SHORT EXTRACT

‘It’s not who you are, it’s how you are’, takes the form of a large site-specific installation that resembles a film set. A platform slicing through the gallery becomes a stage for a series of part-choreographed, part-improvised live performances accompanied by a score of music and dialogue which explores the circularity and slippage of language and the interplay between performer and viewer.

Interested in the interiors of Austrian-Czech architect Adolf Loos (1870-1933) and the idea of accessing a space through multiple viewpoints; a constructed series of circular rooms provide a route through the architecture, revealing live projected scenes of the performance through multiple viewpoints as visitors walk through the installation. It’s not who you are... explores how architecture, moving image and sound play a role in framing and pacing how we experience the world and how we behave, perform and react to, and for, each other with in it. An interplay between interior and exterior, public and private, the recorded and ephemeral, spectacle and mundane activities, song and everyday speech is built up and presented as a multi-faceted construct. This continues in my research into what authentic experience and expression can be, finding performer and audience, life and theatre increasingly entangled as both one and the same.

Full soundtrack 18 minutes 57 seconds

Soundtrack original composition by Alice Theoblad
Derek Draper, Maito Duval, Ania Folejewska, Max Fraser, Elen McDonald, Mike Oades, Melissa Osborne, Gabriel Stones, Alice Theobald.
Voices recorded and mixed by Thomas Sedwick.

Live performers: Bethany Bratby,  Ciara Lenihan, Jennifer Harper, Laurence Hussain, Penny Callow, Lizzie Klotz, Faye Green, Patrick Robertson, Charlie Dearnley, Kate Liston, Stanley Hodgson, Steven Blackshaw,  Joshua Davenport, Apple Yang, Donna Davidson, Bridget Ladyman.